It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Throughout history human beings have been eager to learn knowledge. Some people may hold the view that having an extensive knowledge of many academic subjects is better than to experts in one especial subject. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that being specialist in one subject is preferable. From my own perspective, the latter belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that there are better job opportunities for a specialist. It is the fact that, nowadays, companies producing a product or providing a service are inclined to hire experts in their companies. Since it would decrease the cost of training new employees to being experts in their work.Hence, the one, having expertise in on area of his filed, has more opportunity. For example, I, after graduating, searching for a job. Once I was invited to a job interview, there are a myriad of applicants most of whom were industrial engineering as me. The company wanted to hire a person in the quality control section, who were able to apply the software’s of this field. It was not of importance to know other fields of industrial engineering like project control, production expert and so forth. The more one be expert in one subject, the more he has the chance to get a decent job.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that Studying at a specific subject prepare condition for one to learn in depth. As there is a one subject to be learned, one has a lot of time to spend on learning it. therefore, he can allocate his time on learning and studying all aspects of the subject. Besides, he has not to speed his path to learn fast. He can read a myriad of materials, books to boost himself. In addition, he can do some practical part time jobs in companies which are related to his field to learn it better. For example, a civil engineering just focus on the drawing software such as auto cad and anything associated with structures like buildings, bridges and so on. For, drawing is his first and the most important part of his work. He should be learning it in depth and it is sufficient for him to be specialist in drawing. As a result, learning a subject allow one to learn it in depth.

In conclusion, this is my deep belief that not only is studying one subject prepares good job opportunities, but also it brings about learning profoundly. Therefore, I highly suggest that it would be better to be a specialist in one subject.