It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (well liked) and effective in helping students learn. Agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the most important goal of a teacher is to educate students. However, it is where the agreement stops. When it comes to a statement that a teacher cannot be both popular and effective in helping students learning, people have different opinions. Personally, I firmly agree with the statement, especially for a high school teacher. Some reasons support my idea is illustrated below.

First, high school teacher is more likely to be judged or disliked by students because the material he teaches. High school teacher has to teach students not only academic knowledge but also personal behaviors. Because students are not fully mature and are still finding a way to fit in the real world, they may need more help with responsibility. Therefore, a teacher has to teach them discipline and be responsible for their own behaviors. However, there is where conflicts come from. Sometimes teaching students what kind of behaviors is right and accepted by the society is challenging. People see the same thing in different ways based on their experiences, and their own perspective affects their behaviors. As a result, despite the fact that a teacher endeavors to teach a student what is good, students may come into judgment and dislike the teacher when he says something the student does not agree with.

Secondly, high school teacher is usually thought to be tough or mean because of making many demands on students. High school teacher has to be strict with high school students because students usually are lack of concentration on one thing for a long period. According to a research, the maximum time which a high school student can keep doing on is only half of an hour. Students are easily distracted by other things such as their classmates. Therefore, in order to remind them to focus on learning, a teacher makes a lot rules in class. Once a rule is broken by a student, he got punishment. How come the student likes the teacher who punishes him? So obviously, becoming both liked and helpful is hard for a high school teacher.

Some people may argue that there is another way to attract and inspire students in class, such as being humorous. Nevertheless, I think a sense of humor is a personality which few teachers can learn from others or reading books. Don't even mention if a teacher makes a joke on a student without thinking carefully only means to attract other students, the student may feel insulted and dislike the teacher.

To sum up, for the reasons that I mentioned above, I believe it is difficult for a teacher to be popular and helping students learning efficiently, especially for a high school teacher.