When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects (TPO 33)

Working in a group can be beneficial for students. While most people believe that students will have high efficiency when they work alone, I tend to argue that working in a group can lead to much more effective learning that working on your own. In the following essay, I will vindicate my stance through two noticeable reasons.

To begin with, students who work in a group can feel less tired when they do their projects with other students. In this regard, they can have more concentrations on the part of the project they should deal with. What I experienced is a compelling example to clarify this. When I was in college, I have two types of projects: a biology project and a history project, but my biology project had to be done with one of my friends while my history project had to be done by myself. As my friend and I had shared the biology project between ourselves, we had enough time gathering information and related data. For my history project, however, I got mentally tired when I realized the huge amount of workload I had to cope with. As a result of this, I could not gather as much information as I could for my history project, making me get a bad grade.

Another equally significant point is that by participating in a group, students can share their ideas among themselves. In this way, they can boost their creativity. For instance, in a research study conducted last year, a group of students was asked to work together for their school project while the other group was asked to work by themselves. The results got researchers by surprise. They realize that the brain of students working in a group was more developed than that of the other group. They concluded that the more people a person relates, the more diverse ideas they hear, making them more creative when facing different circumstances.

All in all, working in a group is of more advantages to students. This is because not only can they have more concentration on their project but they can also acquire lateral thinking through discussion and exchange of ideas. This is why I recommend teachers encourage their students to work on their projects together.