Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

These days, appearing as a criterion in most recruitments, teamwork skills become more and more necessary for every student. In my opinion, I truly find it much more effectively to work with a team than to do individually. Two following reasons could help clarify that opinion of mine.

In the first place, working with others could bring students a more comprehensive approach to the issue. To begin with, group working could help widen student’s thoughts by giving them the exposure to variety of opinions from other members. Among those ideas, the group could choose the best and their work’s quality would be definitely boosted. Furthermore, debate activities of group members could also make each opinion become clearer. Therefore, group working could help students both widen and deepen their thinking to completely solve each and every piece of the problem. For instance, in my project in the subject of Public health education, our group with seven members from Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia decided to make a comedy to raise awareness about hygiene in eating habits of our countries. An A for that comedy was an excellent result that none of us could achieve alone.

Secondly, group working could help maintain the productivity of student’s work throughout the project. By working in a group, students could do the tasks that they are good at, which will absolutely ameliorate their productivity. Besides, students could be easier to get rid of stress by discussing their difficult tasks with other members or simply having a short talk to encourage each other. Those things would definitely keep conserve student’s productivity, which is especially important in big projects. My best friend’s case could be the best example for this point. Every time he has a personal assignment, he always delays it and the deadlines threaten him with tons of work accumulated. But in our group project, because of the period deadlines that we set up to control every phase strictly, he could complete the tasks with no overnight working or stress. He always tells me that he especially enjoys group working.

To conclude, I am firmly of the opinion that teamwork is a more imperative skill due to its advantages in providing comprehensive approaches to the issues and maintaining work productivity.