The main role of a university professor is to educate students rather than do research

Currently, tertiary education has witnessed an unprecedented boom. Meanwhile, with the conscious awaken by the developed education, there is an increasing number of citizens attaching great importance to the higher education, especially the main responsibility of professors. Therefore, some individuals reckon that teaching is professors’ priority. While others rebut that doing research is the main tasks that they ought to take on. Personally speaking, the most crucial responsibility of professors is doing research and there are a couple of reasons to account for my views.

To start with, nowadays, the competition in different aspects is increasingly intensive, especially the economy and the technology. To win the battle of taking precedence over other countries, all of these aspects cannot be greatly advanced without the efforts of the professor who specializes in the specific domain. Consequently, provided that the professor cannot wholly be engrossed in their research to reinforce their theories, how can a country get the upper hand during the fierce competition with other countries? Therefore, all aspects of the country will take its toll due to the loss of competition. The research conducted to evaluate countries’ competing power reveals that those countries, which allocate tons of the fund to conduct research, tend to perform well in various domains, like the sizzling economy, the burgeoning advancement of high-tech or the flourished cultures. Conversely, those countries, without the money distributed to do research usually develop at a slow rate, even the whole countries are in a recession. This indicates that the priority of professors is to do research, due to its significance in developing the whole country.

What’s more, with regard to the students, especially their academic performance and prospects of finding employment, the sufficient knowledge is their solid foundation in these aspects. However, where does the solid foundation come from? Taking the ever-changing advancement of theories into consideration, the knowledge cannot emerge without professors’ efforts to do research, which demonstrates that if professors fail to play a vital role in conducting research, they are not capable of affording the knowledge that students need to apply in the future. Apparently, those professors regarding their main job as educating students cannot derive the updated information, that is to say, what they have obtained from their previous learning is not able to accommodate students’ need, thus they cannot educate students well. For instance, one of my best friends, Rebecca, works for an experienced professor, whose life has been totally distributed to the academy. During this process of learning, although the professor does not allocate sufficient time to educate Rebecca’s study, Rebecca says that she has made great progress not only in the pragmatic experience but also in theoretical knowledge and all of this achievement is supposed to be ascribed to the professor’s role model. By observing the professor’s work in the laboratory, Rebecca adjusts her plan and schedule to maximize her time to have a grasp of profound theoretical knowledge. Meanwhile, helping the professor to do research also enables her to hone her skills in conducting an experiment, which lays a solid foundation for her future prospect in becoming an assistant professor.

Admittedly, it is essential for professors to educate students, nevertheless, professors cannot educate students well with the limited and obsolete knowledge they have obtained in their previous studying.

In a nutshell, professors’ priority is to conduct research instead of educating students, since professors’ achievement gained from the research is of crucial significance in the development of a country and professors cannot finish the task of educating without the newly-developed knowledge they derive from doing research.