no

Recently, a new teaching method which students become the center of a class, but teachers keep silent at the most time has been applied in all kinds of schools, from elementary schools to universities. Facing this new method, there are many different opinions in our society. While some citizens believe that teachers should be the central of a class, just like teachers talk and students listen and take notes, while the standpoint of others is that this new teaching method has more advantages than the traditional teaching way. Personally, the latter point, I believe, is more reasonable.

First of all, hardly does a student not participate to class discussions and activities on classes through this method. Normally, professors will give different questions to each different group, and these tasks usually need to be solved by grouping work. In this case, everyone has to participate. For example, our middle has already used this new teaching method for several years. One day, our geology teachers required our group to find causes of volcanos’ formation. Therefore, our group leader separated this question into 6 factors, and then he required each us to choose one of factors to think and share. In this case, each us had to take part in our class. However, in the traditional teaching method, I will never answer questions asked by professors, because that are not required. Obviously, only when students are in this new teaching method can they participate courses more efficiently.

Secondly, it is this new teaching method that help students focus on courses. From my perspective, lectures talked by teacher usually pretty boring and not understandable. However, ideas shared by our classmates may be more interesting and easily to be understood. For example, one day, our history teacher wanted us to learn the history of New York. Luckily, one of our classmates has been to New York for many times, and he shared his experiences in New York, and some inside structures of famous buildings in New York, which were pretty interesting for us. Therefore, under these backgrounds shared by my classmates, all of us favored to learn the history of New York. Whereas, if our class was based on our history teacher’s lecture, we would not want to pay so much attention on this course, because our teacher might never have been to New York, so he could not provide knowledge as interesting as my classmate, even difficult to understand. Obvious, it is not a statement that this new teaching method is a best way to make student focus on classes.

In conclusion, since this new teaching method can make students participate more efficiently and help student pay attention on courses, hence, I think school should use this new teaching method.