teachers' performance should be evaluated by students rather than by other teachers?

Currently, countless individuals were used to evaluating their teachers and colleagues. However, there is a controversial issue if students should evaluate their professors or other professors should evaluate their colleagues. Well, some people endorse that instructors should be remarked by other teachers, while the standpoint of others is that students should have right to comment on their teachers. Personally, the latter point of view, I believe, is more reasonable.

First of all, it is being evaluated by their colleagues that some instructors lose the opportunity to get a higher rank in their schools and lose their jobs. As I know, some teachers will comment on some unrealistic things for their colleagues, since they do not want others to get a higher rank than them. For example, my middle school teacher, Choi, lost his job in the last month. The reasons of losing jobs were pretty obvious, one was that Choi was a knowledgeable teacher who could teach plenty of knowledge beyond textbooks. In this case, hardly do the classes taught by him not get good grades in the final exam. In this case, other instructors were pretty jealous to him, so they went to a Website named Rate My Professor to comment on somethings extremely harmful for Choi, hence Choi lost his job last month. Obviously, teachers should not be evaluated by other teachers.

Secondly, only when teachers were remarked by their students can they get the most real comments. This is because teachers usually spend the majority of their time with their students, so their students must know whether their professors are excellent or not. For example, from my perspective, Choi is a person who is pretty informative, and his courses are highly encouraging, amazing, and organized. Furthermore, he can use the easiest example to explain some complex notions, so all the students usually can get a good grade in exams. Therefore, all of my friends and I think he is a good instructor.

Certainly, sometimes students can give their professors some unrealistic comments too. For example, one of my classmates gave Choi a bad comment, just because Choi did not give her second time to revise her poor paper. However, compared to be evaluated by other professors, most students will do not prefer to comment on some harmful things deliberately.

In conclusion, since students are very similar with their teachers and teachers sometimes are framed by their colleagues, so I still insist on my opinion, teachers should be remarked by their students rather than teachers.