Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In recent years, the increasing amount of garbage has been a serious social problem. In this essay, I will discuss the cause of this issue and explore what governments can do to promote the reduction of rubbish that is produced.

The main reason why the amount of rubbish is increasing these days is consumerism that is prevailing in today’s world. In this context, companies struggle to earn more income, producing an enormous amount of commodities and reducing the production cost as much as possible. In order to do so, they need to utilize very cheap and low-quality materials, which are not reusable, for their products. As a result, customers consume such cheap items more and more, discarding them without reusing. Fast food packaging is a good example, which allows McDonald’s to reduce the cost of packages and increase the hamburger production. Consequently, the amount of garbage that the food chain produces has been rising for the past few decades.

There are some solutions to this problem that governments can do. Firstly, they can establish laws on companies and citizens to restrict rubbish production. For example, taxing according to the amount of litter or imposing fine on offenders should be effective. Secondly, they should encourage companies to develop reusable materials and products by providing subsidies. This allows companies to reduce the production costs and the prices of their products, leading to an increase in the usage of reusable items. As a result, the amount of rubbish will decrease significantly.

In conclusion, consumerism in modern society is the leading cause of the increasing amount of rubbish. Governmental control of the quantity of garbage and encouragement for the development of reusable items are reasonable solutions to this issue.