One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job

It is no secret to anyone that parents play a paramount role in one’s destiny and upbringing, and they are always concerned about their children’s future. One of the influential ways parents can prepare their young children for the future is to encourage them to take a part-time job. Although some people are the proponents of the opinion that teenage children should not work at early stages of life, others stand on the other side of the continuum. I, personally speaking, concur with the latter group, believing that parents should motivate their children in taking a part-time job. my viewpoint is based on a few reasons, two compelling ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that children’s sense of responsibility can be enhanced when they work or engage in a part-time job. Indeed, as one job or one task is actually a new responsibility, it makes an opportunity for children to become an experienced person in their near future. To put in other words, when parents prepare their children for future by motivating them in taking a part-time job, children learn how to be responsible since children like to do their best completely when they are entrusted with a specific task. If they do something wrong, they are taught how to take responsibility of their fault and try to correct them. My own experience is a transparent example of what I mean. When I was twelve years old, my parents encouraged me to get a part-time job as a waitress in a well-known restaurant in my hometown. While I was under the pressure of tasks in early days of work for not getting used to them, I became more and more experienced day by day and have learned many lessons from my tasks and wrongs I made. I have become very responsible to complete my duties in a precise and perfect manner, and never have I shirk my responsibility and have passed it off to others. Had I never been motivated to start working during my childhood, I would never become as responsible as I am now.

Furthermore, working and having a part-time job can transform children into an organized person in their adult life, meaning that children learn how to manage and handle their time, plan and duties since their childhood when they are engaged in a part-time job. By managing their life from the early ages of their life, children can make a hoard of money which can give them a hand to become financially independent in the future. According to my experience mentioned above, I planned to buy a car before attending university. In this vein, I made a plan to manage my time and salaries and would finally buy my favorite car at the due time without any need for my parents. Had I never started my work in my teenage period, I would never become as organized and independent as I am now.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons and examples, I firmly hold that children should be encouraged by their parents to take a part-time job. Not only does it teach children to learn how to be responsible, but it also can make them an organized and financially independent person in their adult life.