One Child Policy

In the late 1970s, China implemented a strict one-child policy in which each couple could only have one child. This policy has effectively controlled the population, but does that mean that the policy is completely fair? No. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement that families should only have one child per couple, like the time period in the 1970s.

First things first, the policy causes the problem of population aging, which refers to the process of relative decrease in the population of the younger people. As the policy decreases the young, the ratio of the population will change while increasing the burden on the families and government. The families at that time are facing the burden of caring for at most four old people, and simultaneously, help balance the family’s economical aspects. For instance, not long ago, my grandma got cancer. She needs numerous chemotherapies y surgeries to recover her weak state. My mom needs to take care of her, and take her to the hospital every week. However, if she gives birth to more than just one kid, they can each help in taking care of grandma, which decreases my parents’ burden.

Second, the implementation of the policy may cause gender imbalance between men and woman. Currently, the sex ratio of newborn babies is seriously unbalanced. Therefore, if the high sex ratio continues, the impact on the population structure would be unimaginable. Simultaneously, the imbalance between men and woman will bring series of social problems,. In addition, different jobs are suitable for different genders. The imbalance of gender might cause people having difficulties with finding a job, which does not help in our society’s economy. China is bound to have a serious population contradiction at some time in the future. The gender imbalance means the reduction of relative national strength.

Last but not least, being the one and only kid in one family, kids feel extreme loneliness in their childhood. When parents are preoccupied with their own work, kids can only play and work alone, especially when they are in big cities. On the other hand, if kids have siblings as their companions, they can grow up together in a very long time. There is no doubt that it is an advantage to the time when they step into the complicated society.

In a nutshell, I strongly disagree with the statement presented in the question, and I believe that China now should not follow the policy.