Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In some schools, students are required to do a certain number of hours of community service or activities that help their communities, like planting trees or providing food to those who need it. Participating in community service should be a requirement in all schools, as it helps students develop skills that will be useful to them in the workplace.

In the past several decades, the world has gone through massive changes on both an individual and a societal level. Nowadays, community service and volunteer activities increasingly occupy students’ time. The debate over whether these activities should be a requirement in all schools is still fierce. Some may suggest that these requirements may cause students’ rebelliousness, and schools should not do that. However, I hold this view differently. Students should be required to participate in community service in all schools.

To begin with, taking part in community service and volunteer activities can serve as a valuable cooperation experience. More and more work today involves teamwork, and people who only focus on their work can never achieve the company's goal as a team. Isolated in their ivory towers, students, even some senior students who face graduation, have no idea about the actual workplace and how to cooperate with other people. In this regard, community service provides students with a comprehensive and objective understanding of the real world. During community service, they may need to break the whole mission down into several stages, assign each people one task, and discuss how to improve their work, all of which bring them a real experience about teamwork and prepare them for future career life.

Moreover, community service and volunteer activities can help them learn a lot and give them a new sense of life. In my opinion, the best education occurs outside the class. Through community activities, students can mingle with more talented people; they can get to know people from different backgrounds and people with various personalities, which expands their knowledge and broadens their horizons. Use my personal experience as an example. In a volunteer activity, I met my friend Frank, who gave up a high-paying job and devoted himself to an organization to help children from unprivileged families attend school. I was deeply touched by his spirit and wish every student could have the same experience.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser choice to make community service a requirement in all schools for the reasons mentioned above.