In order to encourage children to study harder, parents should avoid letting them watch television.

Some people think watching television has bad effects on studying, so it is important to prohibit children from watching it. However, in my opinion, watching TV has some benefits for children to study harder due to providing them with useful information that motivates to study and relieving their stress.

To begin with, it is more advantageous to watch TV than ban them from doing it for their concentration on studying. There are a lot of educative programs in television to motivate to study. Many programs stimulate children’s curiosity such as documentary programs about nature, countries and science. They give children some desire to know about them more. Then, they search them on the internet or read books to study them. For example, my friend’s son get a lot of knowledge from television. One day, he watched a documentary about the nature and he wanted to know more things about forests. So, he studied about the environment and enjoyed doing it. Now, he is trying to become a ecologist. This shows watching TV provides children with a lot of educative information, which let them enjoy studying about the information more.

On top of that, watching TV is more beneficial in that it helps children relieve stress. The society is becoming more competitive and demand more higher scores, which gives students more stress. So, their stress builds up more and more, but there is not enough time to get rid of the stress. Watching TV just a little time allows them to refresh and gives some smile. Then, it has good effects on studying harder. For example, my brother who is a student at the Harvard university removed his stress by watching entertainment shows when he had some break time. He said watching it provided him with new power to study more and got rid of his stress. This indicates doing it is better for children to study harder.

To sum up, if children want to watch TV, it is better to do it since it provides educative programs that motivates their imagination and helps remove their stress. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is good for them to watch television to concentrate on studying.