parents should decide about the future of children agree or disagree

Choosing one’s future is one of the most crucial decisions one makes when living life. Regarding this, some people argue that children should choose their own future, not their parents. Contradictorily, I personally agree with the aforementioned statement that parents should manipulate their children’s future for two reasons: parents can make better decisions, and parents can guide their children according to their aptitude.

First and foremost, parents can make wiser decisions than those of their children. To be specific, as parents lived a longer life than their children, they naturally have more experience, able to know the consequences of influential choices. As parents want their children to be successful or satisfied with their future, they will always choose the best for their children. For instance, Thomas Edison was a troublemaker when he was a child. His mother also knew that her son was a slow learner at school. Instead of sending him to school, she taught Edison herself, focusing on his curiosity and innovative ideas. Thanks to his mother’s education, he became a great inventor and his inventions especially, the light bulb, contributed to human society significantly. This clearly shows that parents can make wise decisions, resulting in a better future for their children.

In addition, parents know their children’s strengths and weaknesses the most. In fact, parents can make long term goals that take into account their children’s characteristics.

As a result, children do not have to spend excessive amounts of time and money while in the process of trial and error. To illustrate, my brother wanted to become a soccer player in his childhood. However, my mom knew that he was disadvantaged in physical condition for a soccer player. Instead, she advised my brother to become a writer as he was brilliant in writing. Realizing his talent, he accepted my mom’s advice and prepared to go to a school that specializes in writing, and much more. He is satisfied with his decision and this proves that parents are the most suitable person to decide their children’s future.

In conclusion, it is necessary for parents to choose their children’s future as parents can make wise decisions and parents are experts when it comes to their children. Admittedly, some could argue that children have the right to choose what they will become in the future, and they can also find new things while seeking their dream. Despite this, since the reasons mentioned before outweigh the other option, I strongly agree with the statement above.