People most respect the powerful not when they exercise
their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”
Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on
the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider
both when the statement may be true and when it
may be false
What is power and how do powerful people get respected? Could it be by exercising or
refrain from exercising it? Some would argue that powerful get respected by exercising the
power they have and others would argue that pussaint people get respected by refraining
from using the power. After examining both, it is certain that people most respect powerful
men who refrain from exercising.
Powerful people who exercise their power get predictable and people could foretell their
actions even before they do it and when they get predicted in such a manner by their
followers then they could loss their relevance and thereby leading to people not according
to them the kind of respect they deserve. For instance, a farcist boss who garrulously and
unnecesarily exercises power amidst his workers would end up losing his relevance and
definitely not be respected
Powerful people who refrain from exercising power get respected mostly because people
would not be able to predict their silence. For instance, A father at home who doesn’t
arrogantly skulk under the umbrella of the power vested on him as the man of the house to
make life hard for his family would in return be respected.
In conclusion, it is clear that people most respect powerful men who refrain from using their
power as seen in the case of the father at home in the instance giving above.