People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

Nowadays, success has become the top concern of modern citizens. However, people hold different viewpoints toward what kind of people can be more successful. As far as I am concerned, people who focus on one skill only can be more successful than people who develop many different skills.

To begin with, focusing on one skill only contributes much to the concentration and patience. Only those who only learn one skill would not be distracted by other subjects and have sufficient time to study further. According to a research conducted by Sociology Department of Peking University, more time one spends on a course, better grade he can achieve. And there are 78% of the university students in Beijing who have selected multifarious courses have little time to improve themselves in each course, thus getting unsatisfactory grades despite of the original enthusiasm to learn the courses well. In contrast, students who only select their major courses could concentrate on their subjects for 8 hours a day, are able to have better academic behavior with a thorough outline and deeply thinking. Thus, I am convinced that people who focus on one skill are more successful than people who develop many different skills.

Additionally, focusing on one skill may have the chance to meet people who are eminent in this field. The continuous effort will bring good luck and golden opportunities, which may help them be successful. Take my uncle Jack for an example, he was major in chemistry when he was in Peking University. Once he attended a speech held by his college, which invited a famous chemistry professor from Cornell University, he asked a question to the professor. The professor was impressed deeply for his intelligence and optimism and gave him a recommendation letter, which helps my uncle get the chance to obtain PhD degree with full scholarship. Nowadays, he is a respected chemistry professor in Peking University and has many excellent students. However, people who develop many different skills may not have the deep thinking to attract those who are eminent in the fields. Accordingly, this is the primary reason for me to advocate that people who focus on skill only are more successful than people who develop many different skills.

Admittedly, it sounds plausible that learning multifarious skills can broaden one’s horizon and increase the knowledge. However, this statement fails to take some more important factors into consideration. People who are successful usually have their unique skills that little people can exceed him, which need long-time concentration and extraordinary chances. When people focus on one skill only, they are more likely to achieve the level to be successful.

To conclude, after weighing these germane factors, I am confident to maintain that people who focus on one skill only can be more successful than people who develop many different skills.