Read and think about the following statement:

Pets should be treated like family members.

do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your opinion.

Humans are the most intellectually evolved animals on earth. They tend to live in colonies and take care of one another. There is a conception in the society that other animals tend to be selfish to survive. In my opinion it is a misconception, and therefore, pets should be treated as family members.

First, pets are loyal and provide unconditional love to their owner. Animals develop intense affection towards humans as well as other animals that extend their care towards them during their most formative years. Like kids love their parents and look up to them, in the same way pets love their master. Therefore, by not treating them like a family member is unfair to them.

Another reason is that people spend ample amount of money on pet care. There is almost 50 percent of the population that adopt pets. In a survey done in the United States of America a family spends almost 30,000 dollars on pets per year. This is almost equivalent to college education of a human child. Therefore, not treating them as family member would be waste of time and resource.

Finally, pets act as therapeutic animals for humans. Many who suffer from anxiety disorder and other stress associated medical conditions are advised to have pets for their wellbeing. Pets detect distress easily and provide comfort to the person. Pets act as more reliable and trustworthy emotional support for humans and therefore, they should be treated with similar care and respect as a family member.

In nature animals adopt other species as their own and act as a guardian to the younger ones of the other species. Nature teaches us to live in peace and harmony. Humans should treat their pets as family member as they provide them respect and unconditional love the qualities that in present day is lagging in many human families.