Schools are the only place to receive true education? Do you agree or disagree?

Along with the advance in social civilizations, formal training is aimed to acquire. Despite the long-lasting accepted belief acknowledgment of schools’ unique role in educating, not only I but most people conspicuously recognize that books and hands-on experience have equal importance in distributing true knowledge.

On the one hand, schools are always the greatest places where students are able to obtain official knowledge. The fact that a handful of experienced and well-trained teachers can be the strongest evidence to prove the correctness of attending schools indicates that with their teaching methods, students can swiftly receive suitable education. People widely believe that schooling is not something simple to get through reading books or searching on websites, it requires many more skills that only teachers can help with. Besides, full-equipped schools are ideal for learners to practice theories trained by teachers so that they can solidly concrete the valuable knowledge. That is why they can save much time and be more confident in learning as well as working in the future without facing many times of failure. However, this stereotype is no longer suitable for modern society.

Conversely, the exclusive role of schools has been replaced partly by first-hand experience and the availability of material. As a matter of books, previous generations did not have access to ample sources of knowledge; therefore, teachers in schools were the only ones whom they relied on to absorb new things. However, the drastic change of the internet and websites without any constraints has shed new light on completely new awareness. Apparently, online books are now shared freely with passionate learners who are in search of true education, which facilitates the learning paths of those from various walks of life. Furthermore, practical knowledge in this day and age is considered the best teacher ever for learners. The reason is that abstract knowledge is an arduous task regardless of the convenience of fully modern devices supported so that only direct experience earned by the expense of time and endeavors are capable of teaching learners. Not schools nor teachers can do that. Hence, no matter how dedicated teachers nor modern schools are, there are still several ways to achieve formal education.

In conclusion, with all aforementioned convincing claims, schools are not the only approach to knowledge, books and experience do play the same role.