Should the government invest money to improve Internet access or public transportation?

Governments try hard to keep their nation at high standard of living. if my country would like to spend more money on improving the internet, I would adamantly disagree with this idea as money should be invested in public transportation instead. I believe this way for many reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, we live in a world full of technology and already well internet accessed. As a citizen, I do not need more improvement at this criteria. On the other hand, public transportation needs a lot of renovations to help people to live their life more convenient with less pressure. My own country is a compelling example of this. Egypt is my home town, in the last couple of years, our president refused to renovate the subways which in contrary he should have considered it in his plane to make our country better. However, by this bad and wrong decision that he has taken. A devastating tragedy recently occurred, a train has been crashed in the subway because of its old equipments and bad management. if the president had taken the right call for improving the subways, we have never experienced this horrible event that left hundreds of killed and injured people.

Second of all, if public transportation will improve, this will lead to less pollution and lighter traffic.

By renovations, it will convince more people to use these kinds of transportation such as subways and buses. Cutting down the number of usage of personal cars will ease our daily lives. Imagine ten employees need to go to work every day, instead of moving ten cars, they would use the subway train. Our environment will be healthier and people will be happier and with better health. Furthermore, it will affect our economy as people will save money of the gas and repairing their own cars. The saved money, we can spend at the most one third of it on the public transportation. For example, nowadays I am using the bus to go to my university. I used to take my car at the beginning but, I always find a difficulty parking my car and I was spending a lot of money on gas and oil change. By switching to the bus, I saved a lot of my income and I am able to enjoy my ride to my classes now.

In conclusion, public transportation is more important aspect in our life nowadays. The Internet has been already improved while the other did not. For me, these renovations improve citizen’s quality of life and make them productive in a less polluted and relaxed environment.