Should high school students study many subjects at a time or only three to four subjects at a time?

Recent years have witnessed the phenomenon quite often that a large number of high school students are complaining about their extensive curriculums. The discussion about whether students should study a curriculum that covering covers various fields, becoming increasingly eye-catching. While some people might be in favor of the opinion that high school students should study many subjects at a time because these subjects can broaden students’ horizons, I hold the standpoint that high school students should only learn a few subjects at a time.

Firstly, restricting the number of subjects to be learned at a time will lead students to reach better academic performance. There is no denying that fewer subjects allow students to be more devoted to their courses because they can organize their learning schedule more effectively. For instance, for a student who just has to be in charge of 3 subjects, he can formulate a schedule that let all subjects be distributed with enough time to be learned thoroughly--He can spend his morning on History or English, which subjects require students to learn by rote. Mornings are always the best time for students to remember and recite. However, if students have to learn many subjects at one time, they might have to learn 2 to 3 subjects that require students to remember a lot of knowledge, like theories, classical texts, and historical events. In this case, if students can study only 3 to 4 subjects at a time, they can use their time more effectively. By studying more effectively, students can obtain better academic performance.

In addition, letting high school students learn a few subjects at a time allows the treatment of teachers to be improved. What can hardly be contradicted is that if students have to study numerous subjects at a time, the school authority has to hire various teachers; fine art, geography, and physics. However, if students just have to learn a few subjects, the school can hire fewer teachers. With fewer teachers being hired, the importance of each teacher will be enhanced. The wages of teachers will be improved, as result. Take for example my friend Boris, a choreographer of at an art high school. Even though we are both teachers serving at senior high schools, his treatments are much better than mine. In his school, students just need to learn essential regular courses like basic math. Most teachers are in charging charge of art and music. Under such circumstances, his school just hired less than 100 teachers for thousands of students. However, in my senior high school, students have to learn various subjects. Therefore, the school authority hired hundreds of teachers to fit these curriculums. Thus, the importance of each teacher in my high school is much lower than it in Boris’s school, and the treatment for teachers is also slender.

Overall, I hold the standpoint that high school students should only learn a few subjects at a time.