Some high schools require students to wear uniforms, while others allow students to choose their own attire.

Which do you prefer, and why? Use specific examples to support your opinion.

For most of the jobs, dressing special clothes and uniforms is a routine. Doctor in a white dress, police officers in police uniform, workers in job suit, and so on are examples of uniform dressing. They use them as protection, identification or just to be clean. Schools try to follow the same path. But for different points of view, the goal of this requirement could be different.

Schools utilize this concept to teach students to “don’t judge a book by its cover”. This might be one of the main reasons. They try to cover the gap between different classes of society; the gap between poor and rich. Maybe some parents couldn’t afford to purchase fancy clothes for their children. And of course, discussing someone’s clothes could be annoying in school. This can affect students’ personalities. So, they are unifying clothes to let students focus on their education rather than their appearance.

On the other side, some people believe that this is just an escape rather than finding a solution to the real problem. You will be judged by your appearance in the future, they say. Students should learn to attend to their clothes. But almost all of the students economically aren’t independent. They can’t improve their economic situation during school.

Also, some people say that schools should teach students how to accept and handle the differences between people. Students should understand that weaknesses in some people are not their fault. And if somebody doesn’t have those problems, he or she isn’t perfect. They should learn to help each other instead of humiliating. Although this is a good point, this requires a lot of time and effort for schools. So they rather choose the simple way and require students to wear a uniform.

During the mid-school, I had the same experience. At first, even this simple routine caused some of us few problems. However, after a few months, we were used to them and we almost forgot that we were wearing them.