Some parents are very involved in their students’ academic lives, helping with homework, talking with teachers, and volunteering at school. Other parents choose to take a lesser role in their students’ academic programs.

Do you prefer for your parents to be more involved in your schooling or less? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Being a supportive parent is always good. But, when parents try to be too supportive, the troubles begin. Occasionally parents should let their children experience new things. Sometimes, children should be guided and advised, not directly helped. Some parents for keeping their children safe, involve more than usual in their lives. This results in the neediness of their children and makes them too dependent on their parents or others in the future. I like my parents to be less involved in my academic or social life.

When your parents want to guide you on a useful path in your life, they sometimes forget that it is your life, not theirs. You realize this fact when it is too late. You became a person who only takes orders from his parents or others. Although, if your parents were well educated and studied enough books about parenthood, then they can speed up your progress in your life; most parents do not try to learn how to properly take care of their children. They think they already have those abilities. Because they think what they personally experienced and what their parents teach them is enough to be a good parent.

On the other hand, one of the main factors of human life is confidence. Without it, you are almost a machine, I think. Because you cannot express your feeling and your ideas properly to the world. As I said above, this kind of person becomes needy and too dependent on others. Experiencing new things, taking some risks, and so on, always give you a measurement of yourself. You will able to understand your own strengths and weaknesses. These are almost some things that you did not inherit from your parents. These are yours and you should learn to live with them. Parents can encourage their children to try again when they fail to do a task, instead of blaming them.

My parents are not educated and because of that they never helped me in my academic life or another academic manner. However, they always supported me in other ways. They always encouraged me when I did a small progress in my life. Also, they never blamed me for my failures in experimenting with new ways. I consider myself a successful person and I think I owe this to my parents because they let me try things by myself and refused to involve unnecessarily in my life and my decisions