Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Smartphones have become a basic need after food, clothing and shelter. Although, the current generation is more into the phones and the smart world rather than in real world. In my opinion, cell-phones are very important today for safe survival.

Smartphones have various factors. Initially, parents can stay in touch with the students. Even if they lose contact, with the help of latest technology available, they can track the phones of their kids via GPS. Students travel to nearby cities to attend schools and colleges. There has to be safety measure. Also, they need basic resources handy, that does not waste their time. For example, they travel daily, so they need buses and train time tables or to book cabs or just simple GPS-to drive safely.

The second reason being, They can look up their doubts anytime anywhere. Students can go through their online class, or some study material while being in the lecture. Professors, now-a days, send all the assignments online on the student portal or via email. Thus, is is important that that student is able to access the assignment and other study materials. When in doubt, one can always Google.

The most important point is every student has his/her own social life. They have friends, best friends, guides etc. they need to keep in touch with anyone, talk to them and it is very important to have a social life. One cannot be alone. The phone is the best way to do that. Instant messaging has made the world shrink in size as well.

Every coin has two sides. It is important for the student to keep smart phones for the development of his/her personality and their individual safety. Although, parents supervision is required in early teenage. One can not completely forbid smartphones in this new world, but one can always teach the right way to use the technology.