Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this day and age, parents are inclined to spend a myriad of time for work so that they can reach prosperity and provide their children with sufficient materials. However, this tendency accidentally leads to the phenomenon that parents suffer from lack of time spent with their children. Facing this problem, some people think they had better guide their children’s schoolwork when they are together, while I believe parents should have fun playing games or sports with their children due to some rational reasons.

The first reason is that sports can help children gain experience of teamwork and competition, which is hard to get at school. With only forty-five minutes for a period, neither do teachers have time to transmit academic knowledge nor teach students soft skills like teamwork. On the contrary, parents get a better opportunity of educating their children's life skills. By playing team sports such as football and basketball with their parents, kids can ascertain how to cooperate with other people to get the best results. This suggests that children will not be baffled when working with others in a career environment, and they will be more confident to dive into competitions. For example, the moments when I played badminton with my parents in the past have excessively urged me to take part in a badminton competition organized by my school.

Secondly, parents should not use their tiny time to talk about stressful school work as it has an adverse impact on children’s mental health. Facing an increasing amount of pressure at school, students are already having a lot of burdens. If parents ask them to continue to study after school, they will produce an emotion of resistance and disbelief; this kind of mentality might put the relationship between parents and children in jeopardy. Moreover, the more people keep doing the same things, the less productive they will be. For instance, if students spent more than five hours studying at school, they would become tired and reluctant to keep learning after getting home.

All things considered, children expect their parents to extract a little time to share stories with them instead of checking their assignments at school inasmuch as it just discourages children from developing.

In conclusion, students should play sports with their parents to upgrade teamwork skills as well as reduce stress.