Some people enjoy change, and they look forward to new experiences. Others like their lives to stay the same, and tjey do not change their habits. Compare these two approaches to life. Which approach do you preffer? Explain why.

“One day your mature years will ask you,  where was your Youth?” This is a proverb taken from the Croatian language. It is meant to motivate the youth to live their lives without fear and with great courage so that they do not regret missed opportunities later in life. However, even tough the world is full of adventures, there are people who prefer to stay within their comfort zone. Living day by day with same routines and habits. This essay is going to present both of these approaches to life.

Many people feel that life has a lot to offer and collecting various experiences will benefit their lives. After months of hard work, there comes a time where you can afford to do something non related to your job or daily chores. For example spa-weekend or trip to an exotic destination. The idea of doing something different and exciting can be a motivation to achieve goals set in personal or business life. For instance, my friend who works as an industrial engineer, has a good reputation for working efficiently and effectively. He says he loves his job and at times it can be very challenging. Therefore, to keep himself on track, he rewards himself with a trip every time a personal goal is accomplished. These example demonstrate how new experiences can facilitate motivation and give meaning to ones individual life.

On the other hand, there are individuals who like to live their lives as safe as possible. For some, having a routine each day, means that they have succeeded in life. This is primarily because of a sense of safety. Considering a person with a rough past, where harm took place affecting their emotional wellbeing as well as mental health, can benefit from having a stable positive routine. People as such lack interest in travel and the need to change their routine. Therefore, enjoying life in a safe environment is all they need for a sustainable happy life.  Moreover, there are also groups of people who are raised in such manner, with lack of interest for exploring and learning other that is not related to theirs way of living and culture. Those are people who come from rural and isolated areas, who had not had any chance to perceive different culture, points of view and beliefs.

After discussing both sides, to me adopting changes and experiencing new adventures seems more enjoyable. The main reason is learning; going through something new and sensing it gives me a new and easier way of learning.