Some people prefer to focus on ambitious dreams while others think realistic goals are more important. Which do you prefer and why?

Goals in the life are like fuel for an engine. They gives us the motivation to going ahead in life, putting aside all the barriers come to us. However, the question is which one of the two ambitious dreams or realistic goals would be more worth pursuing in our lives? In this regard, many might opine that focus on ambitious dreams is like holding some fantasy, which would never be a firm string to cling. On the other side of the coin, others firmly believe that dream is the thing that gives meant to the life, without which life would be so routine and boring. I personally subscribe to the view that anyone who fosters a dream in her/his mind should chase it. I hold this opinion for two main reasons, which I will elucidate in the following essay.

To begin with, today’s modern world would not have the same shape as we see today. In other words, technology and all the facilities we enjoy in our everyday lives would disappear without ones who did not put borders on fostering their ambitions, trying their best to make them come true. For instance, if the Edison had given up his dream of inventing a new source of energy providing light, we would have never touch the delight of enjoying a variety of technologies based on the electricity including the telephone, the internet, to name but a handful. Thus, you see, taking the ambitions out of the frame, we would have lived like other animals on the earth, and never ever would have tasted the new worlds we have created.

The second reason that deserves a few words to write is that in pursuit of dreams we will discover new facets of our abilities and self, otherwise would remain buried and voiceless. I believe that the inner voice whispering inside even some impossible dreams is the real philosophy of our existence, giving us guidance on how to live the life. I should clarify the point by a compelling example of my experience. I majored in chemistry engineering at the university, but due to some conditions in our country, the jobs associate with engineering are more secured than professions in arts. For nearly 10 years, I was a disappointed and unsatisfied with my life because my heart- wish was to be an actor not an engineer. Stage was my dream, but there was a long distance between me and that. However, one day, I decided to pursue my dreams instead of continuing regret about not being an actor. Therefore, I enroll in theater performance class in our community cultural center, and it was so amazing that I have surprising talent in performing. All the suppression I had received during work disappeared, and I felt I was flourishing. Now I am very good at acting, enjoying the life. Thus, taking a walk on the wild side, and following dreams help us to live our desired life.

To wrap it up, I, firmly believe that chasing dreams even if they seem impossible at first is a better idea than take a realistic goal with a routine and predefined path. I feel this way because not only will it cause dramatic progresses in human beings life as it did, but it helps us discover our capabilities, enjoying our desire lives.