Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, different laws, policies, and rules in different countries or regions around the world serve as a power to prevent wrongful acts from bringing chaos to society. I am absolutely against that these rules are to be loosened or make less strict for young people. Instead, they are really playing a wonderful role in helping societies to become more peaceful. The following paragraphs will examine the reasons behind my thoughts.

First of all, the rules are not too strict for young individuals to follow because we can see the crime rates are skyrocketing in certain countries worldwide; for example, the United States. In my opinion, the rules should be even more intimidating to allow societies regain their previous peace and help people feel a sense of security. Stricter rules or policies can definitely reduce crime rates. For instance, in the COVID era, mask mandate is becoming less effective due to people's unwillingness to cooperate and their egocentric thoughts. However, if the government set a rule that incarcerate those who refuse to wear masks when outdoors and gives them a life sentence, the number of people who do not follow the rules would significantly decrease.

Second of all, all citizens, including youngsters, within a country have the responsibility to show obedience to the rules and policies. They should not complain about that the rules are too unhumane or criticize the government. If they have different thoughts, they should write letters to the governmental agencies to opine. For example, as a college freshman, I once questioned the seemingly weird rule by sending an email to the governmental organization. I got a response two days later with explicit reason mentioning why the government made this rule and the reason behind its purpose. I willingly accepted the opinion as very appropriate and thanked the agent.

Third, I believe the rule-makers have their reasons to set certain rules or policies; therefore, these rules are not too stringent for young folks. In fact, young people should be forced to follow them because they are not yet mature enough. They are all still in the process of learning and gaining experience. If there are no such rules, they will never now where they have done wrong and where they need to make adjustments. The reason is that when they engage in incorrect conduct, they will receive penalties , which serve as a reminder for them to refrain from wrongdoings. To summarize, young people should accept all the strict rules for three reasons. First, there are still crimes out there, and the crime rate is surging, so the rules should be even stricter. Second, all citizens, including youngsters, have the responsibility to obey the rules made by the country's government. Third, strict rules can serve as a deterrent to prevent young individuals to engage in certain harmful or incorrect behaviors.