Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People have various views about whether part of public expenditure should be allocated to supporting artists. While some individuals agree that politicians ought to financially encourage these artists, others assume that this is not necessary. Although the first point of view appears to be valid to some extent, I am more convinced by the latter one due to the significance of other national aspects and the possibility of creating an unfair situation.

On the one hand, there are 2 main reasons why it could be argued that the state budget should be spent on artists. First, art, which not only represents the public but also reflects the society as a whole, plays a vital role in today's life. Through financially supporting artists, administration is allowed to have another approach to the country, thereby better understanding the citizens and recognising initial problems within the nation more easily. Another point to make is than creative arts can contribute to the promotion of cities. In liverpool, for example, there are several new statues and sculptures in the docks area of the city. Beside generating a more complex understanding about the culture and history of the city, these art works also serve as attraction locations for international tourists, which greatly develop the tourism of the whole country, and, at the same time, improves the national image of the nation over the world.

On the other hand, I firmly hold the opinion that the government should not spend the national expenditure on artists. Firstly, money should be otherwised diverted into other aspects of the country which are believed to be more practical. Medicine, for instance, ought to be more to be more financially focused on owning to the fact that every residents' mental and physical well-being is made sure to be protected in the long term thanks to a well-developed medicine and professional doctors, which is seen to be much more profound than the briefly comforting feeling given by seeing a piece of art. A further point to discuss is that artist is seen as a job, just like teacher, doctor or factory worker. Everyone must equally persevere to work hard in order to make a living and survive in such a competitive society. Giving funds to only artists, therefore, can create discrimination against employees from other occupations, which causes chagrin and dissatisfaction among residents, as well as compromises the national economy and solidarity.

In conclusion, notwithstanding a number of merits provided by funding artists, I believe artists should not be provided with money from politicians because of the importance of other fields and the integrity for other jobs.