Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of

trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in

their spare time.

"Are leisure activities affected by trends and fashions ?" has become a controversal questions for the past few decades. Some people hold the opinion that hobbies are the mirrors which reflect exactly trends. However, some others oppose that opinion. Personally, I strongly concur with the first view. And this essay will present why I think so.

First, trends are made very often, especially with the rapid development of social nowadays. Since they are called "trends", they can affect many people, which means numerous individuals follow those trends. The clearest example is that in the past, children used to play dolls, skip the ropes or play hide and seek in their free time. But now, we rarely see them playing those games. Instead, they often surf the Internet or join Tik Tok, which is now one of the most well-known app. This shows how great trends impacts our spare time activities.

Moreover, most of people are afraid of being lonely. Just imagine there was a trend which was followed by a large amount of people, However, there was a guy who did not follow it. As a result, he was left out of the crowd. Since very few people want to be like that, people will try to catch the newest trends. So in some friends bonderings, they can have more things to talk with others, as they share the same interests. This is also a reason that trends do have big influences on people's hobbies.

In conclusion, I subscribe to the view that people's hobbies are strongly affected by trends since trends are created regularly and people are usually scared of being left out.