Some people think that the important role of university professors is to

do research, others think the main role of them is to educate students.

Asked professors should teach students or expand their research on campus, the response must be a boilerplate answer, to do research. In my view, this recommendation demontrates the advantages of research outweigh the ones of teaching. There are following two reasons why I support such statement.

First of all, research fuctions to generate greater positive effects on our community as a whole. In fact, nowadays, there are a multitude of social problems awaiting for those experts who possessing strong abilities to solve. Thus, if professors could concentrate their effort on such missions, then the public will all be benefited from the process rather than just students. Take my own country, Taiwan , for example. Recently, there are more and more Southeast Asian migrate workers come to Taiwan to look for better job opportunities. However, because of the great cultural difference with Taiwanese, they have suffered from a wide variety of racial discrimination, and to some extent, even workplace bullies. In order to solve the problem, the government have cooperated with the social science college in my school, and eventually find out that it is a lack of interaction that generates the serious conflicts between the two sides. With this prominent result of reserch, the government begun to establish a lot of cultural events for the two sides to engage in. Now, it is obvious that the gaps between Taiwanese and the migrate workers have become smaller and smaller on the basis of the professor's research.

Secondly, research is considered to benefit the school in different aspects. The fact is that universities can always depend on the research of professors to obtain what they want. Once again, my own university can be cited as an instance. Last year, a professor who is dedicated to inventing a high-yield crop has received a world-famous award in the US. What he did not just impact on the poor Taiwanese farmers a lot, but also largely raise my school's reputation. To be more specific, there are more and more prominent students enrolling in this university since they'd like to polish their resume with the well-regarded school name. In addition, there are multitudes of crop industries awaiting opportunities to have a commercial cooperation with my university. Clearly, the research is thought to benefit my university in terms of reputation, enrolment rate and profits.

To conclude, with respect to the interests of our community and the university, I certainly recommend our scholars to play a key role in doing research rather than teaching.