At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, students almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why.

In this day and age, people have been appealing to democracy in various fields, including universities, which represent the truth and hope of a country. Thus, whether students should be involved in the decision process of school fairs has raised heated debate in social media. As far as I am concerned, I firmly support that university committee should take students’ demands into consideration, and the most effective way is to let students take part in making decisions.

Initially, students can provide essential references for decision making, for they are considerably familiar with issues affecting their daily life. As we can see, the keystone of decision making is to improve both the academic atmosphere in school and living standard of students. Thus, suggestions from students contribute most to what and how actions should be carried out. To be more specific, as for how many hours the libraries should be open, experts may set fixed opening hours, claiming that it is more convenient for the administration. However, students sometimes are overwhelmed by a large amount of tasks such as assignments, competitions and presentations, especially when finals are coming. Therefore, if libraries can flexibly adjust the opening hours and provide all-night studying space, then students will not have to study into deep night outside, facing security threats.

In addition, students’ involving in the decision making process enables universities’ plans to be executed more smoothly. Students are always in favour of decisions that they have participated in, so they will cooperate with faculties to conduct the plan. Nevertheless, if experts raised points which contradict what students urgent needs, students will strive to prevent the committee from carrying out the plan. For instance, if university put forward some strict regulations such as students should come back dorm before 11pm, otherwise they will be rejected. Obviously, the experts neglect that some students have joined internship programmes of big companies and were required to travel for business, and they cannot avoid returning late because of flight delay.

Granted, some one may assert that students are so irrational that they usually cannot see the whole picture of the problems and are inclined to raise some impractical advice. Plausible as it sounds, this opinion does not hold water. We cannot deny that experts with rich experience are more professional and considerable than students. However, students are the host of university, who desire to obtain some degree of autonomy.

In conclusion, as for the above mentioned factors, I contend that although experts’ perspectives are of vital importance, students should participate in the decision making. Only in this way can the newly proposed plan be supported by students and be carried out efficiently.