Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Parents have an important role in raising their children from childhood to adulthood. They nurture and take care of every need of their children. In that way, they express their sense of love and affection for their children. When their children grow up and become adults, they demand independence from their parents while some of them feel to live with them for a long time as possible. However, from my point of view, it is better for adults to live independently.

The first reason why I prefer adults to be independent is that they learn the difference between good and bad things. Adults have to make several important decision ranging from financial to their personal relationships. Being independent, they have to take all decisions alone without any assistance from their parents. Indeed, at first these young adult end up taking a wrong decision but in turn, learn from those mistakes which may be beneficial later in their life. For example, a young boy is in a relationship with a girl whom he later finds has been cheating on him and has an affair with someone else. Such a mistake made by the boy makes himself aware of the characters of girls and later the boy gets more careful choosing for a life partner.

Also, being independent, a young adult can distinguish between a good and bad company. For example, my friend went for his under-graduation to a different city, where he lived independently. During the initial years of his college, he was under the influence of bad company and got addicted to drugs and alcohol. Such addiction had a negative impact on his academics and as a result, he secured low grades in his initial years. So, in order to improve his grades, he abandoned his friendship with his addicted friends and became friends with studious and hard-working students in the college with whom he studied regularly. Such a good company had a significant impact on his studies and help him to improve his grades in the final year.

Another reason why I prefer living independently is that an adult has to support himself or herself financially without any assistance from their parents. As a result, a young adult has to find a job in order to feed themselves. Working in the industry, such young adults learn new skills and become trained in various fields. In short, such a pool of young talent turns them into skilled manpower and become an asset for the nation. Therefore, the nation builds up its base of human capital with more young and talented professionals.

In conclusion, young adults should live independently as living alone teaches them some of the most important lessons in life which a teacher or parent cannot teach. Also, living independently makes an adult be financially sustainable to lead their lives.