Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Nowadays, young people (ages 12-18) behave badly (for example, by being Impolite) more often than young people did fifty years ago.

In the past several decades, the world has gone through enormous changes on both a societal and an individual level. Under this profound change, the debate over whether today’s young people, aged twelve to eighteen, show bad behavior more frequently than young people before is still fierce. Some may suggest that nowadays, people are easily exposed to violent screens pop up on television and are more likely to imitate this behavior. However, I hold this view differently. I believe that young people today do not show bad behavior more frequently than former generations.

To begin with, the advent of the internet has contributed to the spread of education, making young people today more polite and knowledgeable. The presence of the internet has largely increased the accessibility of knowledge. These once-expansive books can be downloaded as an electronic version, allowing even young people in rural areas or harsh poverty to acquire as much knowledge as they want. There is no more efficient approach to teaching young people the importance of good behavior than enabling them to get in touch with the knowledge.

Moreover, nowadays, more and more parents realize that the acquisition of knowledge is only one side of education; another primary goal of education should be enabling students to gain moral value. Therefore, parents increasingly emphasize the establishment of moral values and are aware of the weight of the polite behavior of their children. On the other hand, in the competed-oriented society fifty years ago, young people were only encouraged to study hard and obtain a high-paid job, which is the only judging criterion of success no matter how rude people they are.

Last but not least, society today has increasing requirements for morality and courtesy. For today’s companies, politeness is their fundamental principle. Young people need to sharpen their politeness from an early age in order to perform properly in their adulthood and find a good job. It is similar for young people who take a part-time job. They need to serve clients or deal with the relationship between superiors and colleagues, and all of these require polite behavior.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly that young people today do not show bad behavior more frequently than former generations for the reasons discussed above.