students should have a history class in their university's curriculum

Many hold the notion that, students should learn about various fields of study in universities. In this case, students’ knowledge will grow in different aspects. One of the recommended course is history. In fact, many education planners believe that learning about history can help students to promote their knowledge about the history of their country and foreign countries which they will be able to use historical records and events in their professions implicitly. From my vantage point, although, learning about history can be useful in many majors such as economy, politics, architecture and respectively, it should not be taught in the university. In fact, courses and lessons in the university are complicated and it takes a lot of time from students to learn those complex matters and they do not have time for an extra and irrelevant course.

First and foremost, lessons in the university are more complicated that courses in the schools. Actually, students will enter profession areas about a specific subject by attending university and university is completely different from school. For example, most of the engineering majors are associated with complex problem solving which is overwhelming. Personally, I devote a lot of time to learning just one course in a semester. Furthermore, this condition is not limited to engineering students, however, other majors such as law, politics and literature have their own complications. Most of the students are involved in doing seminars and research programs which are complex and need a lot of concentration. Thus, in my opinion, it is not beneficial to add another frustrating class to student's curriculum.

The second noteworthy point is that, most of the students have a lack of time for performing their assignments, and adding another demanding class will restrict student's time. To clarify, professor's plans for their classes are associated with activities such as research, seminar, assignments and even exams which can take a lot of one's time for doing all of these tasks. Furthermore, the length of semesters is short and the numbers of classes are significant which students always have a lack of time for doing each task with high quality. Thus, adding another irrelevant class may reduce student's performance in their education process. However, instead of adding history class, students can use that time for working on fundamental classes which are related to their profession. In this case, not only the number of tasks will reduce and students will not get exhausted from doing them but also they will be more productive and their performances will increase exceedingly.

In conclusion, adding another class with a different topic to student's curriculum can cause vivid negative influences on students. Some of these impacts can reduce student's quality in performing their tasks and students may face a lack of time for presenting their assignments. Additionally, an extra course such as history can make students exhausted because they already have a lot of overwhelming tasks.