Students today are more interested in politics than they were in the past.

Politics always seemed like a mystery for students due to its esoteric nature. However, with the advent of technology, this situation has changed a lot and politic may be more accessible. The interpretation of new policy will not only broadcasted on the TV but in novel media like social media or some information platform. Seeing this original surge, some people speculate that students would more focus on politic than before. From my perspective, this statement might be too positive.

To begin with, the excessive information is the problem that distracts students’ attention of politics. Due to the information globalization, not only does politics new increase but also other amusement events. Compared to dull policy or international meetings, I believe that most students would like to spend their leisure time on star’s affair or web celebrities. For example, according to a survey conducted by a high school that using a questionnaire to count students’ politic reading habits, frequency and time, from 3000 questionnaires returned, only 34 percent students have habits to read politic news and 58 percent students seldom read the news by themselves but forced by teachers or class requirement. In those 34 percent students, only half of them read it once a week. The result show that politic is still the part that most students are not interested in and may skip. Therefore, the Internet still not change the fact that students ignore politics.

In addition, because of the intense schedule, students leave no time for politics. High school students have super tight schedule and they do not have access to latest new at school. For example, back to my high school time, I nearly arrived at school at 7 in the morning and left school at about 11 in the evening, which means I studied almost 16 hours at school. Besides, at school, students were not allowed to carry cellphones and TV was not permitted to use during the class. What is more, magazines sometimes would be handed out to the teachers due to strict regulation. There is every reason to believe that in the school, student hardly had any chance to focus on politics. Hence, it is not realistic that students learn more politic news at school.

Based on all the reasons listed above, we may confidently reach the standpoint that within tight schedule and information explosion, students may spend their limited time on entertainment instead of politics.