It is very important for students to learn as much as possible before their graduation from university. For this reason, many schools require students to attend all of their classes in person in order to achieve a passing grade. Do you agree or disagree with this kind of policy? Use specific reasons and examples to support your argument.

The debate of whether attendance has any meaningful impact on the ability of students to understand academic concepts is an ongoing one, and the discourse surrounding it has only been bolstered due to the recent COVID-19 pandemic. It is my firm belief that requirements pertaining to attendance at any level of education, particularly higher education, are pertinent to success in one’s academic career. The two reasons supporting my opinion that I would like to explore further are the effect of in-person classes on a student’s overall learning experience and the efficiency of understanding the curriculum.

It is an undeniable fact that engaging with classmates and tutors in classes, which can only be fully attained via in-person classes, is essential to achieving a proper and effective learning experience. Self-studying, online classes and other sorts of classrooms have one deficiency in common: conversing with other participants in an actual physical place. The reason why this is so essential is based on the importance of interacting in order to fully comprehend subjects and to identify each other’s mistakes, build upon them and seek guidance from professors on a physical, as opposed to digital or virtual, level. One example to illustrate this point comes from my experience while learning the notoriously complex course of organic chemistry; wherein I had a hard time understanding certain issues that I had with the subject on my own and despite efforts to connect with others online, these problems would not get solved until universities re-opened and I was able to attend classes in-person again. It was in these classes that I could properly engage in questions and answers with professors and classmates.

Secondly, I am in support of the theory that in-person attendance results in a much higher learning efficiency. In other words, it takes a much shorter time for one to understand a concept while attending in-person classes than it would otherwise. This point is better shown in a personal example. Yet another rather tricky course of physical chemistry was fairly difficult for me to learn when classes were online, and one of reasons for this was that I simply did not know how to properly study for this course, making the whole learning process take much longer and become more arduous than it should have been. Only after the pandemic and being present in actual classes were I able to more efficiently understand this subject and learn it at a much faster pace.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my support for in-person classes, as they can only improve a student’s learning experience and make their academic journey easier by increasing their learning efficiency.