Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

۱٫ Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

۲٫ Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples

Students often have hectic days during semesters. They are engaged in different activities related to their classes, exams and research projects. Therefore, the free time between the university semesters is a golden time for having this chance to participate in other activities. Some people believe that they should involve in activities related to routine life that can be useful for the other citizens, while the others including me have a different notion. I firmly believe that students should take part in a course which has not any connection with their field of study. I hold this view based on two main reasons. Not only can they detect common aspects of different majors, but also it will be possible to be aware of their abilities in other fields. In what follows, the most outstanding reasons will be scrutinized to clarify the discussion.

The first aspect to point out is that the students will be able to find common aspects of different majors. When they are exposed to some concepts of another major, a lot of information will emerge. Consequently, it gives them a deep sight to extract what aspects of the majors that can have practical applications in their own main major. However, they may appear completely different at the first glance; gradually common fields will be detectable for the students. There is no doubt that this process has a profound effect on their performance. For instance, when I was a mechanical engineering student at the University of Tehran, the graduation office published an announcement about some available courses for engineering students during the summer vacation. These courses were related to history and the role of ancient people in human beings' development. I could gain invaluable information about the ancient people's activities on the industrial revolution. Had not I participated in these courses, I would not have had such information about common efforts throughout the history.

A further more significant point is that, the students will be able to recognize their talents in other fields. Obviously, when they just focus on their main major all the time, they can not be aware about the other abilities in other fields. Therefore, during these classes in unrelated courses to their own major, they have this golden chance. Let's consider my own personal experience as an example. There was a time that I was dealing with biology subjects at the university. Once I participated in a course related to playing musical instruments, I found out that I have a remarkable ability in playing the piano. This leads me to pursue my interest in playing piano seriously after graduation as a biologist. Last year when I was chosen as the best pianist in the country, I remember the golden courses which I had been taken when I was a biology student. Admittedly, it motivates me and paves the way towards the success.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons it seems that asking the students to participate in courses which are different from their main major can be considered as a rational method to enhance the abilities of the students in the near future. They will understand about common aspects of different majors. Moreover, they will be aware of their abilities in other majors. That's why it is highly recommended for all the educational systems to pay special attention to this matter.