Students who are given grades work harder than those who are not. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Examination is the fundamental base to test the knowledge of students around the globe. For this examination some prefer grading system while other do not. In my opinion, I agree with the fact that, if grades are given to the students then they will work hard if compared to other students where we used a non graded system for the evaluation. I think this because of few main reasons which I will explain in subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, grading system is basically used to differentiate the students according to their potential and knowledge in the subject. As there is a certain criteria to judge the performance of the students, students tend to take examinations in a compatative way. When there is a price it is human nature to fight for it. When we are grading the students according to their marks students fight to earn the reputation which will be on the line. Personally speaking, when I was in school there was always a healthy competition between me and my 2 other friends to get better grades than others. This kept us always hungry for the extra marks, for which in turn we studied whole syllabus in depth. This was one of the thing that kept me up to do that 'extra' efforts which are very much required in the student phase of life.

Secondly, I think that grades help us to always remind our place in the race. They directly reflect whether we have done the hard work or not. This is important not only in studies but also in life. Grades teach us the importance of persistent efforts and continuity. By implementing grading system students can perform external validation and goal setting. The desire to improve their grades can inspire them to engage in self learning and seek attention from peers and teachers more effectively. When students have to perform better they will improve their problem solving abilities, communication skills hence improving in all aspects.

In conclusion, while the effect of grade on student motivation and academic validation may vary among individuals, students who are given grades tends to work harder. Grades provide sence of achievement, external validation and accountability which can inspire students to strive for more excellence and hence I think that students work harder.