Teachers influence students more than their friends

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

In my opinion, students are more influenced by their friends rather than their teachers. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that "students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends" for reasons that will be explained in the following paragraphs.

There is no doubt that teachers also influence students. However, students spend more time with their friends, therefore resulting in more influence. According to a Nigerian adage that says a goat that walks with a dog will eat feaces. This is to illustrate that a certain behavior can be transferred to another individual if both persons spend more time together. For example, while pursuing my undergraduate degree, I had a friend who would always read at least two novels per day. I was not really enthusiastic about reading but seeing her go to the library to read everyday stimulated my interest in reading. On the other hand, my lecturer who was also my mentor tried all his possible best to stimulate a reading culture in me but this was to no avail. Probably because I was not staying with her for longer hours asides the time I spent in school.

Furthermore, friends influence all other aspects of life as opposed to teachers that majorly influence the academics of a student. For instance, my friend Tolu encouraged me to keep a healthy lifestyle. Before now, I used eat a lot of chunks and fast foods, probably because I was a bit lazy to cook or maybe I just had a sweet tooth. In addition to eating a lot of unhealthy diets, I lived a sendentary life, always watching movies or surfing the internet while in sitting or lying position. With time, I gained about 10kg within a month. This got my friend worried and she challenged me to lose the excessive weight gained. Tolu normally jogs every morning and would wake me up with a call at 6 am to join her in her jogging sessions. This was really impactful and helped me to lose a 5kg of my excess weight.

The above effects are the reasons why I feel students are more influenced by their friends than their teachers.