The expression “Never, never give up” means to keep trying and never stop working for your goals. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe it should not outrightly be said that an individual should never, ever give up. There are instances where giving up is the best and there are others where one should keep trying. Therefore, I have a mixed opinion due to reasons that will be explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, giving up helps an individual to focus on other things which ends up being beneficial. For example, when I finished my secondary school, I wanted to study Medicine for my undergraduate degree. I applied to six Universities in my country- both top and middle rated Universities. I wrote all their entrance examinations and got above the cut-off points for four of them. Unfortunately, I was not selected in any of the schools. It was disheartening and I was really sad. I wanted to keep trying but my mum advised me to apply for another course of study. In the subsequent application cycle, I opted for Physiotherapy and I was immediately selected in all the schools I submitted my applications to. Now, I love Physiotherapy and I happy I changed my decision. Therefore, giving up on studying Medicine helped me to consider other choices and saved me from wasting a lot of time applying for Medicine.

On the other hand, never giving up results in self-development and confidence. I remember when I was applying for a scholarship program. I was rejected on three different occasions. Instead of giving up, I reviewed my profile and application documents, shared it with the selected candidates to help me criticize the essays, and requested for feedback from the scholarship committee. Through these feedbacks I was able to develop on areas I was lagging and also developed my personal skills. Thanks to the previous rejections, I became more confident in several other interviews and was able to bag five scholarships this year.

In addition, never giving up helps us to eventually achieve our goals which makes us happy. As a Physiotherapist I managed a patient, Mr. A, who was involved in a road traffic accident. The accident resulted in a partial spinal cord injury which affected his mobility. He could not walk with both legs. After having 30 sessions of Physiotherapy, Mr. A almost gave up because he could not achieve his goal which was to walk with both legs despite having remarkable improvement in other areas. I kept encouraging him and on the 50th session, he walked for the first time, though he was aided to do so. He was happy and glad he did not give up.

Summarily, giving up has its pros and cons and the choice of whether to keep trying or stop working on one's goals depends on the situation and circumstances.