Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Teachers have and always been a great influencer in a student's life. At school, teachers are the epitome of righteousness for students. Therefore, when it comes to sharing their views towards controversial topics such social or political phenomenon, teachers are always in the balance. Some think it's good to share their opinions while others don't. Personally, i think teachers should not be recommended to share their social and political views with students in classroom and in this essay i will clarify my points.

First point to be made, I think that most students are heavily influenced by their teachers, their opinions are always highly held whether they're bad or good. It would be fine the topic the teachers touch upon is positive and his views are on the right path; however, it would leave serious consequences when the teachers' views are on the wrong track. For example, if the teacher has a negative view towards LGBTQ community and he spreads that hatred in class, many students will be influenced and their ways of thinking may be deviated. Some students might disagree but some will hold on to that ideas and through times it will become prejudice. Hence, social and political views are considered not appropriate to share in class, especially if the teacher is teaching in a class of which students yet to have to ability to form a stable opinion on their own.

Secondly, by sharing their views on such controversial topics, teachers may unintentionally create conflicts in class, whether it is between a teacher and the students or between students and students. If it is between a student and a teacher then as a result the student’s respect and credibility he has for the teachers may slightly or greatly decrease, and at worst there would be mutual dislike cumulates between the two individuals. And if it between friends, there would be great quarrel or even ends up in a fight. For above reasons, I think it’s best for students to form opinions of their own.

Lastly, as teachers share their views, it’s inevitable that not all students are interested. Consequently, hours and hours of teachers speaking would go to waste, and that wasted time would have been spent on the actual lessons that the students go to school for. It is very common nowadays for teachers to cut down teaching time to share their opinions on totally irrelevant topics. While on rare occasions it may show its use, most time the information just fall on deaf ears.

In conclusion, I think that teachers should not share their social or political views in class but rather somewhere else more appropriate and with people that are mature enough to take in the information without being altered by outsiders’ ideas. The time in class should strictly be reserved for relevant topics that students attend school for.