Television advertising directed toward young children should not be allowed

In today's technology oriented world, television, social media, has tremendous impact on current as well as previous generation. Researchers have found that people spent approximately 6-7 hours in front of television. Especially, the advertisement has greater influence on people. I personally feel that, television advertising directed toward young children should not be allowed. I feel in this way for two reason, which I will explore in this essay.

Firstly, as I mentioned earlier that television has profound and long-lasting effect on people of every age-group. It is so much that, toddler do not prefer to eat, if they are not in front of television. The young children directed advertisement theme or even them as child artist can provoke unhealthy, negative action in society. For example, in advertisement of automatic car. It shows a child of age 11 driving a car roughly. This was having so much negative influence on children, that some of them drive without the awareness of their parents. This news was spread like fire, and after few days it was banned.

Secondly, considering a child as artist in such a small age can cause lot of collateral damage. They tend to divert themselves from education toward fashion and film industry. When they started to earn money from small age, it make them indiscipline and even some of them get involved in illegal activities. For instance, a boy from my neighborhood has been offered a side character in one of the famous clothing advertisement. He was in eight standard when it was offered, after that he quitted the study and continue to pursue as artist. It's been almost 10 years, when I last saw him.

It is truly said, that television is an "idiot box". People often get lost in the fantasy world, however, it becomes too late when they realizes the difference. So, because of above mentioned reason, I strongly oppose the idea that television advertising should be directed toward young children.