Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

advertisement has a central role in a company's success in selling its products. one issue that has to be considered by them is that each advertisement is appropriate for a particular range of ages. For instance, younger people have different desires from older ones. some companies try to set their advertisements to attract young children. these advertisements seem to have some advantages for the company and some disadvantageous for families. Although companies advocate advertising for children at a young age, I think that its disadvantages overweigh its advantageous for a couple of reasons which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

The first point I want to make is that advertisements have some bad effects on the family. To clarify, when a child watches an amazing advertisement which introduces an expensive toy, he will force his family to buy that toy. Whereas, they might not have enough money to purchase that. As a result, it may lead to some conflicts between family members. For instance, I remember that when I was 4 years old, I tried to urge my father to buy a particular toy I saw on advertisement while he had no extra money to do so because of our poor financial condition at that time. Consequently, my dad was always under pressure since I was fighting with him to satisfy my needs. now, I regret those days and had I understood that situation I would have never asked my father to do things he was not able to. so it is not always moral to set the advertisement's goal directly on children.

In addition to its bad effects on the family, it seems immoral to me that a company tries to get children's attention to its products. some companies try to use imaginary things in their advertisement so that it makes their product attractive to children. As we know, children are sensitive to what they see and they may believe that those imaginary things really exist. this makes it easy for those companies to make children's parents buy the product. For example, now there is an advertisement about a bear which speaks on television, but we all know that it is just a simple doll. In this way, companies try to deceive children and sell their products through this way. these kinds of advertisements can make prodigious profits for the company but may make serious problems as mentioned previously. With this in mind, companies should not point their advertising purposes to young children.

Given these points, we can conclude that advertising for children is not a good idea since it can cause problems for families and it is an immoral way of gaining profits. Were I the head of the company, I would not allow to use advertisements aiming for young children. I hope that companies stop advertising in such a way.