These days, if you pick up a newspaper or turn on the TV or radio, you may hear or read about the advantages of driverless cars, also called self-driving or autonomous cars. The technology is simple to understand: using sensors and computers, these cars can drive without input from a human. This might sound like science fiction, but such vehicles are already on our roads and they will have a positive impact on our driving experience.

Traffic accidents are a leading cause of injuries and fatalities in the United States, and studies show that most crashes are caused by human error. The software that runs driverless cars is not capable of making mistakes. As a result, such vehicles will be much safer. One technology company has a self-driving car that has driven for over 700,000 miles – over one million kilometers – without an accident: a better record than all but the best human drivers.

In addition, self-driving vehicles are good for the environment because they drive more efficiently. On a typical journey within a city, drivers deal with urban traffic by stopping and starting their engines repeatedly. This type of driving means engines work less efficiently and this causes a lot of pollution. Driverless cars, on the other hand, can communicate with other vehicles, which will reduce traffic problems. Autonomous cars will be able to start and stop their engines less often and travel at higher speeds.

Finally, autonomous cars will give passengers time. Instead of having to focus on driving, human occupants can focus on other things. The average time for commuting to and from work in the United States is about thirty minutes each way. Instead of using this time to focus on the road, passengers in driverless cars can read, watch videos, or catch up on work.

The article introduces about the topic driverless cars, where in future no more drivers are needed to drive the cars, there will be technology where they use sensors and computer. The author say that this will be having a positive impact on our daily driving experience. Where as the professor in the listening disagrees with this point because it is dangerous stating human errors who have build the driverless cars technology.

Firstly the author states that there are leading cause of accidents due to the human errors and the technology company having self driving car for over 700000 miles over one million kilometer without accidents. Where as the professor in the lecture however disagrees with this viewpoint because he claims that the self driven car which drove over 700000 miles over one million kilometer had crashed last month. he keeps saying that which was published all over the news due to human error .

Secondly the author says about the self driving cars are good for the environment having a more efficient ways to drive. The author rebuts the argument stating that there will be more people coming on the roads and people with no age limit having no license will also use the self driven cars causing a lot of pollution even with the efficiency of the fuel.

Lastly author feels that there due to self driven cars humans will focus on other things and the commuting time will be used in there work or they will be occupied in other activities. Here the professor again believes that human use this time of driving to listening songs and to relax and enjoy their personal time. He further says that if this time also the self driven cars are there then professor is afraid that the humans will work there also, which they keep doing the whole day.

To sum up both the author and professor from listening hold the conflicting views about driver less cars. It is clear that they will have a trouble to find a common ground on the issue