TPO-31- Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Happiness is a very important aspect of our lives because if we want to enjoy our lives we have to be happy. Some thinks that people in past were more happy than people living in current time because the world is changing very fast now. If you ask me I would say people in the current time are much more satisfied with their lives for few reasons which I explain them in this article.

First, we have to ask ourselves that how we define happiness? In my view, the type of happiness of the current people are very different from people living in past. For example, people in past used to sing songs, climb mountains or get together and visit each other to spend their free time, but now people spend their free time very different because the type of habits and entertainments devices have changed a lot, for example, traveling to other countries by airplane very quickly; and seeing different pictures and reading different funny stories in our mobile phone can be very satisfying and fun.

Second, today people have to work less because the world have become automated and everything is fast and works are done without any humans have to do the job. In past, humans were responsible for doing their jobs and they need a lot of effort and energy to complete their tasks, but electricity has made jobs easier because machines are replacing the humans' hands and they can do the hard work instead of us; just we have to program them at first, so these new changes and new technologies can lead up to more happiness.

Third, in old times people did not have access to internet or electronic devices like smart phones, so they had a lot less knowledge than a person living in current time that uses these devices. I think someone is happy which knows a lot about everything and can answer any question that may be asked, therefore we can search any information quickly on internet and know the answers. This way we can gather and learn more knowledge to fix our problems and needs.

Based on the three reason I mentioned above, people living in the present time are much more happier than those who lived in past because the new fast world has given us opportunities like working less and gaining more knowledge. If we define happiness in these new opportunities, certainly the current world can be very beautiful and promising for us, so It is better to thanks for these gifts and the easy life we have now.