Universities should require every graduating student to take public speaking

courses

In the modern-day, education plays a prominent role in all societies. Owing to its paramount importance, a large number of scientists have always been searching for ways to enhance educational systems. A controversial question which deserves some words here is whether or not universities should include public speaking courses as obligatory for graduate students. I assert that public discussion courses should become compulsory for students. In what follows, the most clear-cut reasons will be discussed.

The first argumentative factor to take into account is that students learn some social skills by selecting public speaking courses. To shed more light on this matter, students will become an important person, such as an engineer, a doctor, a professor and many other similar ones in the future; hence, they need to know how to speak fluently to their employees, or other individuals who have bond with them. As a result, in the public speaking course, when students force to present a lecture and speak about various topics, they prepare for the future professions effectively; consequently, they attain sufficient abilities to speak about their notions and ideas clearly. Furthermore, it has remarkable influences to enhance the level of self-confidence among them. Consider a chemical engineer student who has a high level of knowledge in her major, for instance. She must have enough skills for speaking about her ideas in a workspace. If she cannot speak impressively or transfer her ideas effectively, she would not become progressive in her professional situations. Furthermore, her bosses will not be very enthusiastic to get some projects with this engineer, and she may become disappointed as a result of this event.

Another equally significant point is that students learn to defend their ideas when they take public speaking courses. To elaborate on this point, students will face many different ideas and notions in their future job or career. In this situation, they must know how to defend their ideas and how to respect other’s opinions. By taking public discussion courses, students become flexible to the ideas which become the opposite side of their notion; thus, this phenomenon assists them remarkably in their future jobs since numerous opinions exist for each topic, and individuals who can tolerate the contrasting ideas will become successful.

Taking all aforementioned reasons and examples into account, we may draw the conclusion that if students take public speaking courses, they can gain many advantageous. This issue is as a result of this importance that they not only learn social skills but also learn how they must defend their ideas.