Universities should spend more money in improving facilities like libraries and computer labs rather than hiring famous teachers?

In the past, students would flock to universities that boasted prestigious professors and luminary lecturers. Students enraptured with the celebrity status of the instructors would register at the university. However, today, students are placing more and more emphasis on other aspects of university facilities and services. It is my opinion that universities should not solely focus on hiring famous teachers.

The boom in technology-related professions has resulted in students demanding modem and sophisticated computer labs and research labs. These advanced facilities provide students with the hands-on experience needed to make the successful transition from student to working professional. Similarly, students studying humanities and liberal arts require access to a well-stocked library that carries the latest periodicals, books, and researches. Students studying sports medicine and athletics, on the other hand, will require modem, safe and sanitary recreation facilities like a fitness center and sports stadium. If a university’s facilities fail to meet potential student’s expectations, students will turn elsewhere to seek their education.

Students and their parents have also demonstrated the importance of dormitory housing when weighing their university options. Dorms that are outdated, unsafe, or located too far away from classrooms are no doubt unappealing to potential students. Administrators at universities have noticed this trend and have begun to upgrade student dormitories, focusing on accessibility for handicapped students, nighttime safety, and convenience when walking back and forth to classrooms. I know several students who were unwilling to attend a university because the dorm facilities were too inadequate.

Another aspect of university life that is often overlooked is health services. While most students may never require a visit to the university health office, the health office nonetheless offers indispensable services to those who do arrive. My university has medical professionals and specialist on-duty that evaluate and treat students. There are also counseling services and psychologists available for students who are dealing with high levels of stress or are distressed with home life. I think this emphasis on student physical and mental health is very important and helps create a harmonious campus.

While spending money to attract famous professors with illustrious credentials is important on one level, providing excellent facilities, forms, and health services should not be overlooked. Only by building a well-rounded university experience can administrators and educators provide a top-notch education for students.