What are the characteristics of a good coach?

A coach is a master craftsman who moulds a person's natural ability and helps him become the greatest at whatever he does. When we hear the word coach, we automatically assume that it has something to do with sports. However, this is not the case. When it comes to sports, the term "coach" is commonly used, but when we dig deeper into the definition of the term, we discover that it refers to the person who instructs and guides us. The Coach of a particular field is the subject matter expert for that field. They are aware of when an issue will arise and how to resolve that situation. They are the driving force behind every winner's achievement.

The best coach is the one whose teaching results in his or her student becoming a winner. A good coach does not instruct his kids in a one-size-fits-all manner. It is the coach's responsibility to instruct his students in such a way that they learn how to deal with a difficult situation. For example, if a cricket coach instructs his pupil on how to play spin ball, the student will not be more successful. However, if the coach does not inform the players of the spin ball and mistakenly throws one, the coach will be considerably more effective in instructing them on how to play. That is the characteristic of a successful coach. A competent coach must keep his students motivated over the course of the journey and encourage them to learn for themselves. If a student understands how to learn independently, he or she will be able to learn anything in a short period of time.

A superb coach should also turn his or her student into a competitor, so that his or her students develop the competitive spirit necessary to win the game or contest. If a coach forces his or her student to fight against a difficult opponent, the learner will learn about their own shortcomings. This allows a student to progress exponentially, rather than competing with students at a lower or equal level of achievement. A competent coach inspires his or her students to think large, to think about something that is relevant on an international level. Another important aspect of being a successful coach is helping his students accept and learn from their mistakes. If a pupil experiences failure, he or she will develop a desire to succeed the following time around. An enlightened soul once said: "The lesson of failure is that it may teach you a great deal." A coach should be aware of when his students are required to be on the ground in order to prevent them from becoming someone who believes he is the superior of the field. A skilled coach must also be able to maintain control over the student's rage or ego. A pupil who is conceited can never be a successful person.

A coach should be familiar with his or her pupil and understand how to mould him or her so that he or she may excel in whatever they want to accomplish.