What are some of the qualities of good parent? Use specific details and examples to explain your answer.

"What makes one a good parent?", is a difficult question to answer to, because each generation has its own specific particularities, and often parents face many challenges. Because of the continuing evolution of various ideas, what was applicable to past generations is not available for the present one. From my point of view a parent should be both open-minded and supportive. I will explain my statement, in detail, in the following essay.

To begin with, a parent should be aware of the presents realities when educates his off-springs, even though these might not reflect the values he grow with. This aspect has a tremendous importance for the integration of the child in the society. Otherwise, the offspring might be ignored and outcast by the children of his own age. However, a good parent should pay attention to the positive and negative realities, and therefore, he has to advise his child whenever some facts that seem to be fashionable are not proper for a normal behavior. In the end, parents must be parents, not friends. My friend's experience is a compelling example of this. Back in high school, his parents used to allow him all the freedom in the world, to buy him fashionable clothes and to have a large entourage of friends. One day, he decided to have imprinted a tattoo, and he was sure that his parents would support him. Surprisingly, his parents were against to this and explained him the consequences of such an action. That very moment, my friend was angry with his folks, but a few years after he realized that they were right.

To continue with, a parent should be supportive when it comes for his child's dreams and passions. There are children who have innate talents and parents have the duty to identify and guide kids to develop them. It can be about music, sports, science, math and so forth. These activities are significant for the harmonious development of a child, improving his character traits such as responsibility, diligence, ambitiousness. Moreover, such talents can be vital for the future of a kid, being a good source for a prosperous career. For instance, my aforementioned friend, was very talented at singing opera. Both his parents and his teachers noticed this extraordinaire talent, and offered their support to help him to studying this field. As a result, he became better and better over the years, and now he has concerts all over the world.

To summarize, being a parent is a difficult job that requires qualities that fit to present times. A parent has to be open-minded due to the fact that a child's integration in the society is based on actual values. Being a supportive parents is also essential, because this might influence the future and the career of a child.