What do you want most in a friend?

Human beings have certain basic requirements, in order to live a fulfilled and grateful life. Friends are one of them. A friend can be defined as a person who will help us at our worst times, and a trustworthy person who will listen to us and guide us through the journey of life. Friends can be both permanent and temporary. Irrespective of the duration of the friendship, we expect that friend to guide us and be by our sides. Friends can be of various age groups and not necessarily be of the same age. Moreover, intelligence and adventurous are another two important aspects that many of us desire in a friend. If we point out our needs from a friend, there are myriad of them, depending on the severity of the situations. Let me present some of them.

Firstly, we expect our friends to be reliable. Reliability is not built over-night, but rather over a long duration and based on various scenarios such as how many times the friend has saved us from critical situations. For example, during our school days, when we used to bunk classes and go to watch movies, our friends used to save us from the teachers and our parents as well. When we grow up, we expect holidays with our friends. Without reliability, we won't prefer to travel with friends. Also, there can be emergency medical situations in our families. In these hours of need, we expect our friends to be by our sides. Clearly, reliability plays a huge role in choosing friends. Moreover, we are also expected to show reliability to our friends in their hours of need.

Intelligence is the second most sought aspect in a friend. Intelligent friends are required in all stages of life. These category friends are expected to help us with our assignments at the university or school levels, with our quotidian tasks at the professional workplaces, with financial advises at the middle age, and with post-retirement plans after we retire. Also, these category of friends are expected to teach us to develop critical judgement abilities instead of blindly following them.

Humor and adventure are the second runner-ups in the most sought aspects. Life without humor and adventure is banal and meaningless. For example, we are in a middle of a serious situation and we are bored. Suddenly, a friend with a good sense of humor throws a joke or says something funny. We all are bound to laugh in such situations. Similarly, when we are on a trip, we need people who love trekking or scuba-diving, or bunji jumping.