When a country faces an economic crisis,

Which of the following do you think the government should spend less money on?

-Schools -Public libraries -Public transit -Military

Undoubtedly, government spending play a significant role in people's daily lives in many of the places where they work or play. when a country faces an economic crisis, the government should spend less money on some areas : schools, public libraries, public transit and military; . If I had to choose one, I would say that the government should reduce its spending on military. There are several reasons as follows.

To begin with, education is the fundamental value for a country so the government should maintain its spending level on educational facilities such as schools and public libraries in any cases. The educational facilties equipped with many valuable functions help citizens learn, study and work efficiently and accurately. When the functions are well used, it is likely to bring a better result in the country. Take my oldest cousin, for example. Korea suffered from a financial crisis in 1998 and my cousin was an university student, dreaming of entreprenuer. Thanks to the determination that Korean government did not stop funding on his university, he was able to make use of expensive servers in the laboratories in the university. As a result, he could establish a start-up company selling software products, which gave a big success to him. If Korean government had stopped spending money on universities, he would not been able to obtain his success. good

In addition, the government should protect its environment; therefore spending less money on public transit cannot be allowed because it can affect negatively environment. The provision of a more convenient and affordable public transit encourages citizens to commute by bus or subway, instead of driving their individual cars. This is likely to reduce the emission of harmful gases; thus, resulting in improving environment. For example, recently in the United States, Texas suffered from an unexpected massive flooding, which is a very rare phenomenon for a state known for a dry weather. Many experts are linking this event to the increase in CO2 level mainly caused by cars. To be specific, cars account for one-fifth of the U.S. gas emission, taking up to the largest portion of all transportation. It is not exaggerating to say that cars have been the root cause of the climate change. This implies that the Government should be aware of the need for taking measures for sustainable environment even though it costs money. good

All things considered, the government that spends less money on one of the schools, public libraries, and public transit cannot be justified for the reasons I have mentioned above, while I was able to find any rational reasons for spending less money on military. I strongly believe that military is the least important function of the country compared with the schools, public libraries, and public transit, so it is concluded that the government needs to consider spending less money on military. The importance of appropriate government spending cannot be overestimated.